The 5 Most Commonly Broken Texas Traffic Laws
Not a day goes by that I see someone getting pulled over by Wichita Falls police, usually for something that could be avoided.
So with that, here are the top 5 most commonly broken Texas traffic laws.
5. Parking Violations
This one happens a lot and can cost you a lot. The most common parking violation is parking in a handicap spot without proper permits. This can cost you $500-750 in fines and each subsequent violation can cost you more.
The old rule used to be 30 minutes before sunset and 30 minutes after sunrise, and this still holds true, but if visibility is less than 1000 feet you are supposed to turn them on. And it should go without saying that they are supposed to be on at night. I see lots of people who forget to turn them on at night.
U-turns are one of the easiest things to screw up in Texas, even though the laws on it are very minimal. You can make a u-turn if you can see 500 feet in front of or behind you. If you can do it safely, then you are good. If not, then expect a ticket for unsafe driving. And of course, if you see a no u-turn sign, then don't do it!
2. Not Wearing a Seatbelt
This one should not even be a deal anymore, but so many people still don't buckle up. And the fines are ugly to say the least: up to $200. And it gets uglier if there are kids unbuckled or not in a car seat.
This is one that happens A LOT. These fines will vary on many different factors, but what will get you is that fines double if you are in a construction zone.
Be safe out there, folks.
BONUS: People in Wichita Falls Who Have No Idea How to Drive